Thick Scottish Shortbread

I just had to make shortbread to go with my lemon curd, I thought about scones or biscuits but I really like butter. It’s because of my Scandinavian heritage, I come from a family of butter lovers. I thought I had baking with massive quantities of butter out of my system after baking for the holidays but the lemon curd in the fridge was calling out for the shortbread. I found this recipe from finecooking.com for thick shortbread which delivers the goods when topped with the lemon curd.

I gave some of the lemon curd and shortbread away, it was hard but I did it! Now I am almost out of butter, I had to buy more for my dinner party last weekend, it’s a vicious cycle. It’s okay, I like green olives too and they are good all by themselves.

Yields 16 squares

1 & 1/2 cups all purpose flour
3/4 cup cornstarch
1/8 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup plus 2 tablespoons superfine sugar
16 tablespoons unsalted butter, softened and cut into pieces
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
Lemon Curd, from last post, optional but really good!

Position a rack in the middle of the oven. Preheat the oven to 300°. Line an 8×8-inch brownie pan with heavy aluminum foil, letting the foil extend over the edge of the pan.

Sift the flour, cornstarch, and salt into the bowl of a stand mixer. Add 1/2 cup of the superfine sugar and mix together on a low speed. Add the butter pieces and vanilla and mix together until large crumbs form, about 2 minutes. Gently press the dough into the prepared pan. Don’t pack the dough into the pan. Bake until the top of the shortbread just begins to color, about 1 hour and 10 minutes. Remove from the oven and immediately sprinkle the remaining 2 tablespoons of sugar over the top.
Cut the shortbread into squares and cool completely before lifting the foil and shortbread from the pan.

Serve with Lemon Curd.

Leave a Reply

