Spring Cabbage Soup

Say goodbye to Winter and hello to Spring with this soup recipe! I make a lot of potato leek soup, ask Scott, he’ll tell you, ‘that was good, now what’s for dinner?’ Then I say,’ how about some bread with your soup’. And that’s how it goes at our house when I make soup for dinner. I had almost all the ingredients for this soup from my Betty’s Organics box. The only problem I have with the weekly delivery of the box is a surplus of kiwi fruit that I’ve been holding onto for awhile. I need to call Betty and tell her to hold the Kiwis. I would like to make some soda bread this week so I bought some buttermilk, hopefully I’ll make my soda bread so I won’t be trying to figure out a recipe for buttermilk and kiwis.

The idea for the Spring cabbage soup came from an Irish cookbook,’The New Irish Table’. I also added whole milk to the soup which is from their recipe which makes the soup look lighter and velvety. A few small changes to my usual recipe for potato leek soup and I have a simple creation which could be served in Ireland.

2 tablespoons unsalted butter
1 tablespoon olive oil
2 carrots, chopped
2 celery stalks, chopped
3 leeks, white parts sliced thin
2 russet potatoes, cut in cubes
2 shallots, minced
2 cups shredded Napa cabbage
1 quart chicken stock
1 cup whole milk
1 fresh bay leaf
Sea salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste
Fresh herbs, to sprinkle on top for serving

1. Melt the butter and olive oil in a large soup pot. Add all the veggies, including garlic, and cook for 5-7 minutes, stirring frequently. Add the stock, bay leaf, salt and pepper. Reduce heat to low and simmer for 30 minutes or until the veggies are tender.

2. Remove the soup from the heat, discard the bay leaf and let it cool for 15-20 minutes. I use a stick or immersion blender to purée the soup until smooth.

3. Return the soup pot to a low heat and stir in the whole milk. Cook over medium heat until hot. Ladle the soup into bowls and sprinkle with herbs.

Leave a Reply

