Rosemary Olive Oil Crackers

Rosemary olive oil crackers, what a fun recipe to make and serve with a salad or as part of a cheese course for a party. They are simple to make, the only thing you need to know is that the dough is fairly stiff to roll out but very forgiving, once you make your first batch of crackers you’ll be hooked! I like to eat them plain or with strawberry jam.

I think it’s going to rain again this weekend. It’s good for the garden and we need the water but I think we’re all ready for some sunshine, what a change from last year when everything was so dry. I’m looking forward to taking a digital photography class tomorrow morning, I hope to improve my picture taking skills and especially to learn more about lighting for photography. If it doesn’t rain I may go to the farmers market and look for herbs!

Ingredients and Directions
adapted from ‘The Herb Farm Cookbook’ by Jerry Traunfeld

2 cups European-style artisan flour from King Arthur Flour, or 1 & 1/2 cups all purpose flour plus 1/2 cup rye, barley or white whole wheat flour
3/4 teaspoon sea salt
3 teaspoons finely chopped fresh rosemary, plus extra for sprinkling on top of crackers
4 tablespoons fruity extra-virgin olive oil
1/4 cup whole milk
1/4 cup cold water, more if needed
1/2 teaspoon Fleur de sel, for sprinkling on top of crackers

Preheat the oven to 425°F

In a medium mixing bowl stir together the artisan flour or flours with the salt and rosemary.Stir in 3 tablespoons of the olive oil and rub the mixture together between your fingers breaking up any lumps until the mixture is the texture of coarse cornmeal. Sir in the milk and the water to form a medium stiff dough, if it is too dry add more water a little bit at a time.

Line a baking sheet( about 16×12) with parchment paper, remove the parchment paper and set aside. Roll the dough into a rectangle the same size as the pan. Roll it up on the rolling pin and unroll it on the parchment. With a pastry or pizza cutter, cut the dough into crackers, 6×4 grid for 24 crackers. Brush the tops of the crackers with olive oil, sprinkle with rosemary and the Fleur de sel. Place the parchment paper back into the baking sheet.

Bake the crackers until they are browned around the edges and in spots through out the crackers. Slide the crackers on to a rack to cool. If the crackers in the middle of the pan are not done enough, return them to the oven for 3-4 more minutes. I brushed the tops with a little more olive oil while they were cooling. Let cool for 30 minutes before serving. Store for up to one week in an airtight container.

Makes 24 crackers

12 responses to “Rosemary Olive Oil Crackers

  1. I have a similar recipe for crackers and I just adore it! They taste so good…especially when I use fresh rosemary. I always love reading your new posts. Thank you for sharing!

  2. Oh thanks for the recipe, I just bought some, I love those herby crackers, so good as is too. Great recipe!

  3. yum! These crackers sounds and look so good; hard to believe they came from not a package but someone's kitchen! You are very talented!

  4. I love this kind of crackers!!! They are a must for me….ideal for dips and summer "apperitif" …Good luck with your course and in the market !

  5. Hey Patty, cracker dough is stiff! But your'e right. It ends up being quite forgiving. These look great, and I like that top photo!

  6. Now that we've got new rosemary plants, I'm looking forard to trying these soon. Mmmm! Rosemary olive oil crackers are favorites of mine.

  7. I love anything with rosemary. These look and sound delicious.

  8. wow these hearby crackers look so great! I've never thought to bake crackers myself. This is a sign for me to try!

  9. hi PattyI must say I have never made crackers, but you make me want to try it!!thanks so much for sharing your recipe and for the inspiration!CheersDennis

  10. Patty, I've never made crackers before but you make it sound so do-able. They look great, too.I've also got photography classes on my to-do list. Hope you have fun!

  11. Patty you make beautiful food. These crackers look delicious, my mother in law has a huge rosemary bush so I may give this recipe a try this summer! Thank you for sharing 🙂

  12. These look great! I've never made crackers before – I think these will be great to try!!

Leave a Reply

